Garlic Scapes – Part Two – Roasted

Fresh garlic scapes
Fresh garlic scapes

And so continues my wee obsession with garlic scapes.  I love they way they look.  And now I’m going to see what happens when I put them in the oven and roast them.

These came from Samsara Fields at the Cabbagetown Farmers’ Market.

Of course, July is not the time to be turning on your oven, especially when you don’t have central air.  But 7AM seemed a reasonable time to make them.  Better to let the oven heat dissipate during the day, while I’m at work, rather than come home and turn my place into a garlic-scented sauna.  And yes, they taste great as a pre-breakfast.

Here’s your RTI:

Remember:

Garlic scapes are tasty.  That’s all you need to know for this recipe.  Also, if you are planning on kissing someone, make them eat garlic scapes too. The flavour is mild but you can still taste and smell the garlic.  Sharing is caring.

Tools:

  • Roasting Pan
  • Tongs

Ingredients:

  • Garlic Scapes
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt

The “How”:

  • Preheat the oven to 425F.
  • Wash the scapes and cut off the tough or hard parts, like you would asparagus. Chop off any dried up ends as well
  • Dry the scapes
  • Drizzle them with olive oil and place in roasting pan.
  • Roast for 15-20 minutes.  You can toss them around once or twice if you like but if you’ve got enough oil, they shouldn’t stick to the pan.
  • Sprinkle with salt to taste.

I had  a large bunch of scapes so I separated them into three pans; a glass roasting pan, a heavy ceramic baking pan and a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper.

Scapes separated into three pans
Scapes separated into three pans

I roasted the scapes whole for the most part.  I did cut some up into bit-sized pieces to make them easier to eat.  But I think they’re way more fun to eat when you just pick them up with your hands.

So how did it all turn out?  Depended on the pan actually.  The scapes made on the cookie sheet turned out best overall I think.  Lightly roasted with depth in the brown parts and some crunch and still green vibrancy in the green parts.

The pictures actually make them look a little burnt.  I’m not going to lie.  The ones I made in the glass baking dish were a little burnt.  My oven hates me.  What can I say?  I ate them anyway.

The super crispy version were just as good as the perfectly roasted cookie sheet version.  Both were like garlicky, salty, crunchy popcorn.  Ate all of them.

Scapes on the cookie sheet
Scapes on the cookie sheet

The garlic scapes that baked in the larger ceramic dish came out a bit softer, not so crispy.  There may have been too many scapes in the dish.  Maybe, maybe not.  But if I were to make them again, I’d go with the cookie sheet version.  And I might turn the oven down to 375F.

Will I taste garlic for several days now?  Not sure about that.  But what I am sure about is that it’s time for homemade chocolate ice cream.  Gotta go!

Oh, here’s a sneak peak.

Homemade chocolate ice cream
Homemade chocolate ice cream
Leave a Reply

