Homemade Incredibly Easy Chocolate Ice Cream

Ice cream trifecta
Ice cream trifecta

Ice cream is one of my all-time favourite desserts.  But I’d been put off making it at home because every recipe, it seemed, called for an ice cream maker.  Then I ran across this recipe from Chatelaine one afternoon on FaceBook and wondered, could it really be true?  Ice cream made from three simple ingredients which takes about 5 minutes to whip up?  Could it actually taste good?  Would it be creamy and melty and lush all at the same time?

Only one way to find out.  So I headed out on a lovely warm Friday evening (because that’s what I do on Friday nights.  Make things in my kitchen.  Doesn’t everyone?) to pick up 35% cream and sweetened condensed milk.  I started out with the rhubarb ice cream recipe, but then saw the classic chocolate ice cream ditty (where you don’t have to melt chocolate in a double boiler) and the cherry almond sorbet.  So I did what any sane person would do.  I made all three.  And now three ice cream posts for you!  Ice cream week, it is!

Scoops of deliciousness
Scoops of deliciousness

Could any of them give me anywhere near the same satisfaction as the deep, dark, rich Tasmanian Chocolate gelato at my favourite ice cream shop, Ed’s Real Scoop?  Or the nocciola (hazelnut), coffee (only to be consumed in the full light of day or I will be up ALL night) and tiramisu?

Ed's Real Scoop Nirvana
Ed’s Real Scoop Nirvana

Short answer?  Yes, yes indeed.

Here’s your RTI:

Remember:

35% cream is best for the ice cream recipes but friends have said they’ve used table cream (by mistake) and the result was just as delicious.

I doubled the recipes so that you don’t have to fuss with half a can of sweetened condensed milk hanging around.  Trust me.  The ice cream will be gone in no time.  You won’t regret having made extra.

Tools:

  • Bowl
  • Hand mixer
  • Container to put the mixture for freezing that has a tight-fitting lid.  I used the tupperware-style containers I use to bring my lunch to work.  Nothing fancy.
Chocolate, Rhubarb and Cherry
Chocolate, Rhubarb and Cherry

Ingredients for the chocolate ice cream (from Chatelaine):

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 cups 35% cream (I used the 473mL carton)
  • 1 can (300 mL) of sweetened condensed milk

Here’s The How for the chocolate ice cream:

  • Pour the cream into a bowl along with the cocoa powder.
  • On low to medium speed, mix the two together.  Watch out for poofy clouds of cocoa (seriously, cocoa powder everywhere… so go slow!) as the mixer does its magic.
  • Once the cocoa is mixed in, add the condensed milk and whip some more.   I brought up the speed to high and ended up with hard peaks when the recipe calls for soft peaks. End product was just as delicious
  • Pour into your container for freezing.  Freeze for 6 hours.
Homemade chocolate ice cream
Homemade chocolate ice cream

 

Though I love the chocolate ice cream above, I would love a darker, deeper chocolate flavour.  I’m going to try to make a dairy-free ice cream to save my non-lactase producing insides.  Let me know if you have a recipe that makes me forget it’s dairy-free!

Leave a Reply

