Incredibly Easy Homemade Rhubarb Ice Cream

 

Chocolate, Rhubarb and CherryCherry Sorbet
Chocolate, Rhubarb and CherryCherry Sorbet

Creamy, not too sweet ice cream with bits of tangy-sweet rhubarb.  What’s not to like?  It’s all part of what I call my summer ice cream “tour” which usually involves making the rounds at ice cream shops around the city.  Who knew I’d be touring my own freezer?

When I saw this recipe and how easy it was, I pretty much ran out to make it.  I didn’t have fresh rhubarb so I bought a bag of frozen rhubarb.

I was so eager to make it, that I didn’t take nearly enough pictures!  Apologies.

Here’s your RTI:

Remember:

Remember this recipe.  You’ll want to make it again!

Tools:

  • Mixing Bowl
  • Hand Mixer
  • Measuring Cup
  • Pot to cook rhubarb
  • Container to put the mixture for freezing that has a tight-fitting lid.  I used the tupperware-style containers I use to bring my lunch to work.  Nothing fancy.

Ingredients for the rhubarb ice cream (from Chatelaine):

  • 2 cups chopped rhubarb (I used frozen)
  • 2 cups 35% cream (I used the 473mL carton)
  • 1 can (300 mL) of sweetened condensed milk

Here’s The How for the rhubarb ice cream:

  • Chop up your rhubarb into small pieces.
  • Put in a pot (do not add water) and bring to a boil.  Let the rhubarb cook down until the liquid is evaporated – about 10 minutes.  You should have 2/3 cup or so.  Allow to cool.
  • Pour the cream in a bowl and whip on medium speed to soft peaks, which should take 2 to 4 minutes.
  • Then add in condensed milk and whip on low speed until just combined.
  • Add the rhubarb and give the hand mixer a whir until just combined.  The mixture should be smooth and fluffy.
  • Pour into the container.  Freeze for 6 hours.
Rhubarb, chocolate and cherry
Rhubarb, chocolate and cherry

The ice cream portion of this was wonderfully smooth and creamy until I hit the little patches of iciness.  At first I thought it was because I used frozen rhubarb instead of fresh which might have more moisture in it.  However, friends used fresh rhubarb and then ended up with the icy texture here and there as well.  It might come down to really letting the rhubarb boil down.  I’m not sure!  If anyone has the answer, let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

