Rhubarb, all things Rhubarb

 

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie anyone?
Strawberry Rhubarb Pie anyone?

 

“Rhubarb.  I have a ton of rhubarb.  I don’t know what to do with it,” said my friend.  My reaction?  “Whaaaaaaaaaaat?!?!?!?!?  Hand over the rhubarb!”  And so she did.  The lovely pinkish, light-green stalks arrived and promptly chopped into about 15 cups worth, which admittedly, sounds like a lot.  But rhubarb is like spinach.  It takes up a ton of space when you first get into the kitchen and then it reduces to nothing.

What did I do with those 15 cups worth?  I made a rhubarb pie, a strawberry rhubarb pie, a rhubarb-buttermilk tea cake and a rhubarb-strawberry compote.

I did make some minor alterations.  The compote recipe calls for raspberries.  I substituted strawberries. I also halved the sugar.  And the rhubarb buttermilk tea cake is great without the glaze.   I used not only lemon juice but some orange juice as well.

I also followed the recipe for the rhubarb pie cooking the rhubarb on the stove and then felt it just wasn’t enough filling, so I mixed the cooked rhubarb with a bunch of frozen which was a great mini gamble.  The pie then had the deep richness of cooked rhubarb plus the sprightliness of the baked chunky pieces of rhubarb.

All recipes courtesy of Chatelaine.com.  Thank you Chatelaine!  Check the hyperlinks for the recipes!

Haven’t had a recipe fail me yet.  In fact, either I’ve become magical or it is the first time in a long time that I’ve made a pie dough that was easy to roll out and stayed together.  There was no madly patching up the dough in the pie plate for the bottom crust and then hiding my mistakes by rolling out dough and using cookie cutter shapes for the top layer of dough, like so.

Letter dough shapes to cover a pie
Letter dough shapes to cover a pie

Anyway, enough about my “rolling out dough” issues.

Here are some of the shots of the prep.  See the hyperlinks above for the full recipes from Chatelaine.com

The Strawberry Rhubarb Prep:

The Rhubarb Pie Prep:

The Strawberry Rhubarb Compote:

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    Love rhubarb, this is a great recipe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

